THE UK's FASTEST GROWING ONLINE NUTRITION STORE - WITH OVER 70+ BRANDS / PROVIDING NUTRITION TO OVER 9000 CUSTOMERS
SaltStick Electrolytes have been formulated to provide electrolytes to help minimise heat stress and muscle cramping due to perspiration, in a quantity and form which your body can absorb. SaltStick products are ideal for athletes, outdoor workers or for use in hot conditions. All SaltStick Electrolytes are made in the U.S.A., free of banned substances and independently tested.
Jonathan Toker, Ph.D., founder of Toker Engineering LLC, developed the SaltStick products. Toker is an elite-level triathlete who hails from Canada and lives in Southern California. He received a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from The Scripps Research Institute in 2001, worked in the biotech industry for 5 years, and raced in the professional ranks as a triathlete and runner for 5 years. SaltStick® Caps were developed as a study of scientific literature on electrolyte loss in sweat, highly bioavailable ingredients, and field testing. SaltStick Caps have since become the accepted standard for electrolyte replacement capsules.
Read the XMiles blog - Why Saltstcik? on how SaltStick products have become increasingly popular with marathon and ultra runners. Our information guide is designed to help you understand how SaltStick products can assist your performance.
Are SaltStick products vegetarian? Vegan?
SaltStick Caps are vegetarian in that they do not contain any meat or meat products. The magnesium separate and stearic acid used in small amounts in SaltStick Caps for the encapsulation process are derived from vegetable sources. The L-leucine in SaltStick Caps Plus is a purified amino acid originally derived from duck feathers. The vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) used in both products is a pure ingredient, originally derived from an animal source, and is the same material that our bodies synthesise in sunlight. Therefore, both products are vegetarian in that they do not contain meat or processed animal parts but do contain ingredients of animal origin and are therefore not considered strictly vegan.